Shortlist of 2010 Finalists Announced

The World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) announced the 12 finalists for the 2010 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards. Under WTTC’s stewardship since 2003, the prestigious Awards recognise best practice in sustainable tourism in four different categories – Destination Stewardship, Conservation, Community Benefit and Global Tourism Business. Over 160 entries were received this year from over 45 countries.
The 12 finalists were selected by an international team of independent judges in each of the four award categories for having successfully demonstrated sustainable tourism practices, including the protection of natural and cultural heritage, social and economic benefits to local people, and environmentally friendly operations.

The 2010 Finalists are:

Destination Stewardship Award
Botswana Tourism Board, 
Country of Montenegro, Ministry of Tourism, Montenegro 

Conservation Award
Emirates Hotels & Resorts,
Inkaterra PerĂº SAC, 
Singita Grumeti Reserves, 

Community Benefit Award
Namibia's Communal Conservancy Tourism Sector / NACSO, Namibia
Whale Watch Kaikoura Ltd, New

Global Tourism Business Award
Accor, France & Global – 
Banyan Tree Holdings, Singapore & Global – 
Wilderness Safaris, South Africa & Global –